St. Patrick’s day comes and goes each year and many people celebrate.  Hard.  I can still remember a video of a friend doing the back stroke on the floor to his room through the kitchen and hallway after a birthday/St. Patti’s day combo.  Other than drinking though, what do most people do to celebrate the day?  Wear green.  All right, easy.  Throw on a green whatever and there you go.

Something a little more interesting is the food. My mother loves to cook – I’ve never actually talked to her about it, so this is more of a guess, but an educated one – and whenever a traditional holiday comes around there’s always a feast to go with it.  Back, not that long ago, every St. Patti’s day I would sit at the dining room table and dig into thick slices of corned beef adorned with cabbage, a side of mustard (might not be so traditional), and a few slices of Irish soda bread.  Those times are gone and have been for years, but what lingers with me still is the memory of the soda bread – the corned beef and cabbage would be finished within a few days, but my mother would make extra loaves of bread to eat during the week.  The bread wasn’t exactly sweet or anything like the usual banana or zucchini loaves she made, but instead it had a more distinct taste from the caraway seeds and raisins she chose to put in it.  I still can’t quite describe it fully, but instead can only remember the combination of sweet butter and a more bitter bread filling my stomach each year around this time.

I’ve searched around trying to find a recipe closest to what I remember and stumbled upon this one from allrecipes.com. (http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Irish-Soda-Bread/Detail.aspx)  I’m not a huge cook myself and most likely won’t get around to fixing this, but hey, it’s a larger effort than putting on some green.

